RockBowl - Previous Editions

Check out some photos and videos from previous editions!

Follow the news: |

RockBowl was created in Brazil in 2014 by the CBMR (Brazilian Committee of Rock Mechanics), affiliated to ABMS (Brazilian Association of Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering) and ISRM (International Society for Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering). At that time, the president of the CBMR was Professor Sergio Fontoura, current Vice President of ISRM in Latin America and Chairman of the 14th ISRM Congress.

The first Brazilian edition of RockBowl was attended by ISRM president Xia-Ting Feng and ISRM Secretary General Luis Lamas. In that occasion, Mr. Xia-Ting Feng requested the creation of the international version of the RockBowl to be held during the International Congresses of ISRM. The first edition of International RockBowl took place in 2015, during the 13th ISRM Congress in Montreal, Canada. Brazil was the winner.

Since then, two more Brazilian versions of the event have taken place – in 2016 and 2018 - and the current president of ISRM, Eda Quadros, continued the project initiated by Xia-Ting Feng. He confirmed the request to organize the second RockBowl international, RockBowl 2019, to be held in Foz do Iguassu.

The company Geobrugg exclusively sponsored the three Brazilian editions (2014, 2016 and 2018), and was one of the sponsors of the first international RockBowl, with the company Handar Blasting. Then, they returned to be exclusive sponsor of the game in the second RockBowl International.

Check out some photos and videos from previous editions of this fun and exciting technical game!

ISRM 2019